0 Items in Cart   |   Shopping Cart   |   Checkout

Summary of Residency Requirements for Divorce – All States

In order for the courts of a state to consider your case for divorce, you must satisfy the jurisdictional requirements of that state. Although state laws differ considerably with regard to the applicable jurisdictonal rules, almost all require residence by a spouse in that state for some minimum period of time.

In some instances, courts can exercise limited jurisdiction to grant a divorce, but not decide other issues such as division of property, alimony and custody. This will occur when the spouse filing the divorce case resides in the state, but other lacks any significant contacts which would warrant jurisdiction over these matters. Because jurisdictional issues can be particularly complex, you may wish to consult with a lawyer if you are unsure about whether you are able to satisfy your state’s requirements.

The following chart summarized the states’ durational residency requirements:

Durational Residency by State:
Alabama 6 Months
Alaska 30 Days
Arizona 90 Days
Arkansas 60 Days
California 6 Months or 180 Days
Colorado 90 Days
Connecticut 12 Months or 1 Year
Delaware 6 Months or 180 Days
District of Columbia 6 Months or 180 Days
Florida 6 Months or 180 Days
Georgia 6 Months or 180 Days
Hawaii 6 Months or 180 Days
Idaho 6 Weeks
Illinois 90 Days
Indiana 6 Months or 180 Days
Iowa 12 Months or 1 Year
Kansas 60 Days
Kentucky 6 Months or 180 Days
Louisiana 6 Months or 180 Days
Maine 6 Months or 180 Days
Maryland 12 Months or 1 Year
Massachusetts 12 Months or 1 Year
Michigan 6 Months or 180 Days
Minnesota 6 Months or 180 Days
Mississippi 6 Months or 180 Days
Missouri 90 Days
Montana 90 Days
Nebraska 12 Months or 1 Year
Nevada 6 Weeks
New Hampshire 12 Months or 1 Year
New Jersey 12 Months or 1 Year
New Mexico 6 Months or 180 Days
New York 12 Months or 1 Year
North Carolina 6 Months or 180 Days
North Dakota 6 Months or 180 Days
Ohio 6 Months or 180 Days
Oklahoma 6 Months or 180 Days
Oregon 6 Months or 180 Days
Pennsylvania 6 Months or 180 Days
Rhode Island 12 Months or 1 Year
South Carolina* 12 Months or 1 Year
South Dakota No Statutory Provision
Tennessee 6 Months or 180 Days
Texas 6 Months or 180 Days
Utah 90 Days
Vermont 6 Months or 180 Days
Virginia 6 Months or 180 Days
Washington No Statutory Provision
West Virginia 12 Months or 1 Year
Wisconsin 6 months or 180 Days
Wyoming 60 Days
*If both spouses are residents of South Carolina, the residency requirement is reduced to 3 months.
feedback

Submit your Feedback

      Sending...
x
Back to top